top of page

It's a Lippitt

Today I just bought a horse. A Lippitt Morgan, however, the horse hasn’t even been born yet.

I’ve looked around for horses since July and haven’t found anything I really want. My favorite thing to do is train so I’ve decided to look for a little one. Most everything around here is QH, while there are some very nice ones, I really don’t want a QH.

Years ago I had a friend that raised Morgans and listening to her talk impressed me so much I decided to look into a Morgan. I knew there were different family lines within the Morgan breed but I couldn’t remember if my friend had suggested I look into the Lambert or Lippitt Morgan lines. So I started researching and felt I was going to go with a Foundation bred Morgan, because I like their looks and also they come in color. Still I was having trouble finding people with Foundation bred Morgans for sale. Not sure which of the Old Family Morgan lines I really wanted I continued researching and talked to different breeders. In the end I decided to go with a Lippitt Morgan, even though they only come in Black, Brown, Bay, or Chestnut. Primarily what I loved about the Lippitt is the history, being the family with the highest percentage of the original Morgan, as well as their looks. I wanted a horse that would like to play games, had stamina, and was known for being sound. What I also like is that Lippitts tend to be consistent in there conformation. The Lippitt fit everything I was looking for.

I visited a breeder and bought first pick of any pure Lippitt fillies born to one of her three full Lippitt mares due to foal in 2014. The Sire was there, Legacy on lease from Alabama, and he was beautiful. I loved his powerful and straight looking hindquarters. Each of three mares Faith, Pandora, and Cadence (the horse not my daughter) were also beautiful and very shine considering it winter had already set in. Faith is expected to foal first, sometime in March.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page